Featured, Government, News

McDowell County’s Unofficial Results for General Election 2020

MCDOWELL COUNTY, W.Va. – Out of McDowell County’s 15,529 registered voters, 6,556 ballots were cast across Election Day, Early Voting and Absentee Ballots for the General Election 2020.

In the race for President, incumbent Republican Donald Trump won the majority with 5,125 votes against Democrat Joe Biden’s 1,323 votes. 29 votes were cast for Libertarian Jo Jorgensen, 17 for Mountain Party Howie Hawkins and 4 write ins.
In the race for US Senator, Republican Shelley Moore Capito won with 4,519 votes against Democrat Paula Jean Swearengin’s 1,353 votes. Libertarian David Moran received 114 votes and there were also 6 write ins.

In the race for U.S. House of Representatives, 3rd District, Republican Carol Miller won with 4,297 votes against Democrat Hilary Turner’s 1,366. 4 write-ins were also received.

In the race for Governor of West Virginia, Republican Jim Justice won with 4,837 votes against Democrat Ben Salango’s 1,313 votes. Libertarian Erika Kolenich received 54 votes, Mountain Party Daniel P. “Danny” Lutz Jr received 42 votes and there were 67 write-ins.

In the race for Secretary of State, Republican incumbent Mac Warner won with 3,776 votes against Democrat Natalie Tennant’s 2,088 votes. 1 write in was also received.
In the race fo State Auditor, Republican John “JB” McCuskey received 3,896 votes against Democrat Mary Ann Roebuck Claytor’s 1,551 votes. 3 write ins were also received.

For State Treasurer, Republican Riley Moore received 3,283 votes against Democrat incumbent John D. Perdue’s 2,399 votes.

In the race of Commissioner of Agriculture, Republican incumber Kent Leonhardt received 3,694 votes versus Democrat Bob Beach’s 1,674 votes.

In the race for Attorney General, Republican Patrick Morrisey received 4,205 votes against Democrat Sam Brown Petsonk’s 1,681 votes.

In the race for State Senator, 6th District, Republican Chandler Swope ran unopposed with 4,375 votes. 18 write ins were also received.

In the race for State Senator, 9th District, Republican David Bugs Stover ran unopposed, receiving 413 votes. 6 write ins were also received.

In the race for House of Delegates, 21st District, Republican Mark Dean lead with 815 votes, following by Democrat Phyllis White with 223 votes. 2 write ins were also received.

For House of Delegates, 25th District, Republican Tony Paynter ran unopposed with 518 votes. 1 write-in was also listed.

For House of Delegates, 26th District, Democrat Ed Evans lead with 2,398 votes followed by Republican Wes R. Payne with 1,885 votes. 5 write-ins were also received.

For County Commissioner, incumbent Cecil Patterson ran unopposed with 4,550 votes. 39 write-ins were also received.

Brittany Puckett also ran unopposed in the race for Prosecuting Attorney, receiving 4,621 votes. 36 write-ins were also reported.

In the race for Sheriff, James “Boomer” Muncy, Jr. lead with 4,526 votes followed by Kenneth Hicks, with 1,613 votes.

In the race of County Assessor, A. Ray Bailey received 3,624 votes followed by Gary R. Hall with 2,452 votes.

No candidate filed for County Surveyor, but 145 write-ins were reported.